(1954-2024) List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners Year Wise with Photo

Award No.	Recipients with Photo	Year of Award	DoB / Death	Nation/State	Significant Remarkable Contributions
1	Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan	1954	1888- 1975	Tamil Nadu	India's first Vice-President and second President (1962 to 1967)
2	C. V. Raman	1954	1888- 1970	Tamil Nadu	Physicist, mathematician, and scientist known for his work in the field of light scattering
3	C. Rajagopalachari	1954	1878- 1972	Tamil Nadu	Activist, statesman, and lawyer was an independence activist, who served as the last Governor-General of India from (1948 to 50)
4	Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru	1955	1889- 1964	Uttar Pradesh	Independence activist, politician, and author served as the Prime Minister of India (1947 to 1964)
5	Bhagwan Das	1955	1869- 1958	Uttar Pradesh	Independence Activist, philosopher, educationist, and co-founded Kashi Vidyapith
6	M. Visvesvaraya	1955	1861- 1962	Karnataka	Civil engineer, statesman, and Diwan of Mysore
7	Govind Ballabh Pant	1957	1887- 1961	Uttar Pradesh	Independence Activist and politician, first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh (1937–39) and (1946–50)

8	Dhondo Keshav Karve	1958	1858- 1962	Maharashtra	Social reformer and educator, established the Widow Marriage Association (1883), Hindu Widows Home (1896)
9	Purushottam Das Tandon	1961	1882- 1962	Uttar Pradesh	Independence activist, politician, lawyer, statesman, scholar, and speaker of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly from (1937 to 1950)
10	Bidhan Chandra Roy	1961	1882- 1962	West Bengal	Physician, political leader, philanthropist, educationist, social worker, and second Chief Minister of West Bengal from (1948 to 1962)
11	Dr. Rajendra Prasad	1962	1884- 1963	Bihar	Independence activist, speaker, lawyer, and first President of India (1950–62)
12	Pandurang Vaman Kane	1963	1880- 1972	Maharashtra	Sanskrit scholar, Indologist, known for his five-volume literary work History of Dharmaśāstra, Ancient and Medieval Religious and Civil Law in India
13	Zakir Husain	1963	1897- 1969	Andhra Pradesh	Independence Activist, economist, education philosopher Governor of Bihar (1957–62). second vice-president of India (1962–67), third President of India (1967–69)
14	Lal Bahadur Shastri	1966 (Posthumous)	1904- 1966	Uttar Pradesh	Independence activist, second Prime Minister of India (1964–66), known for his slogan "Jai Jawan Jai Kisan"

15	Indira Gandhi	1971	1917- 1984	Uttar Pradesh	First woman Prime Minister of India (1966–77 and 1980–84)
16	V. V. Giri	1975	1894- 1980	Odisha	Independence activist, Trade Unionist, 4th President of India, (1969–1974), Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, and Mysore
17	K. Kamaraj	1976 (Posthumous)	1903- 1975	Tamil Nadu	Independence activist, politician, statesman, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu (1954 and 1963)
18	Mother Teresa	1980	1910- 1997	(Skopje, North Macedonia) Live in West Bengal	Catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity
19	Vinoba Bhave	1983 (Posthumous)	1895- 1982	Maharashtra	Independence Activist, social reformer, and a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi
20	Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan	1987	1890- 1988	Pakistan	First non-citizen Bharat Ratna Award winner, Independence activist
21	M. G. Ramachandran	1988 (Posthumous)	1917- 1987	Tamil Nadu	Actor and Politician, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu (1977 to 1987)
22	B.R. Ambedkar	1990 (Posthumous)	1891- 1956	Maharashtra	Social reformer, lawyer, and a Dalit leader, head of the committee drafting the Indian Constitution
23	Nelson Mandela	1990	1918- 2013	South Africa	Leader of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in South Africa, President of South Africa (1994–99)

24	Morarji Desai	1991	1896- 1995	Gujarat	Independence Activist, Politician, 4th Prime Minister of India (1977 to 1979)
25	Rajiv Gandhi	1991 (Posthumous)	1944- 1991	Uttar Pradesh	Sixth Prime Minister of India (1984 to 1989)
26	Vallabhbhai Patel	1991 (Posthumous)	1875- 1950	Gujarat	Independence Activist, first Deputy Prime Minister of India (1947–50)
27	Abul Kalam Azad	1992 (Posthumous)	1888- 1958	West Bengal	Independence Activist, first Minister of Education
28	J. R. D. Tata	1992	1904- 1993	Maharashtra	Industrialist, philanthropist, and aviation pioneer, chairman of Tata Group
29	Satyajit Ray	1992	1922- 1992	West Bengal	Director, filmmaker (<i>Pather Panchali</i> in 1955), writer, novelist
30	A.P.J Abdul Kalam	1997	1931- 2015	Tamil Nadu	Aerospace and defense scientist, Eleventh President of India from (2002 to 2007)
31	Gulzarilal Nanda	1997	1898- 1998	Punjab	Independence Activist, interim Prime Minister of India (1964 and 1966)
32	Aruna Asaf Ali	1997 (Posthumous)	1909- 1996	West Bengal	Independence Activist
33	M. S. Subbulakshmi	1998	1916- 2005	Tamil Nadu	Carnatic classical vocalist
34	Chidambaram Subramaniam	1998	1910- 2000	Tamil Nadu	Independence Activist and former Minister of Agriculture of India (1964 to 1966)
35	Jayaprakash Narayan	1999	1902- 1979	Bihar	Independence Activist, Social reformer

		(Posthumous)			
36	Gopinath Bordoloi	1999 (Posthumous)	1890- 1950	Assam	Independence activist, politician, first chief minister of Assam (1946–50)
37	Amartya Sen	1999	1933- Till	West Bengal	Economist, Nobel Prize Winner (1998)
38	Pandit Ravi Shankar	1999	1920- 2012	Uttar Pradesh	Musician, sitar player
39	Lata Mangeshkar	2001	1929- 2022	Maharashtra	The famous Singer, and known as the "Nightingale of India"
40	Bismillah Khan	2001	1916- 2006	Bihar	Hindustani classical shehnai player
41	Bhimsen Joshi	2009	1922- 2011	Karnataka	Hindustani classical vocalist
42	C. N. R. Rao	2014	1934- Till	Karnataka	Chemist, scientist, professor, author
43	Sachin Tendulkar	2014	1973- Till	Maharashtra	Cricketer, Known as the God of Cricket and Little Master, Highest runs getter in ICC, Total- 34,000 Runs, Most matches played 664, Most Hundred (in Test-49 and ODI-51) Total- 100 Centuries
44	Madan Mohan Malaviya	2015 (Posthumous)	1861- 1946	Uttar Pradesh	Scholar and educational reformer, founded of Akhil Bharatiya Hindu Mahasabha (1906)
45	Atal Bihari Bajpayee	2015	1924- 2018	Madhya Pradesh	Elected 2 times to the Rajya Sabha, 9 times to the Lok Sabha, 3 times Prime Minister of India (1996, 1998, 1999 to 2004)

46	Bhupen Hazarika	2019 (Posthumous)	1926- 2011	Assam	Indian playback singer, musician, lyricist, poet, film-maker, known as <i>Sudhakantha</i> , and <i>Assam</i> <i>Ratna</i>
47	Pranab Mukherjee	2019	1935- 2020	West Bengal	Politician finance minister (2009 to 2012), 13th President of India from (2012 to 2017)
47	Nanaji Deshmukh	2019 (Posthumous)	1916- 2010	Maharashtra	A social activist, politician, focusing on education, health, and rural self-reliance
49	Karpoori Thakur	2024 (Posthumous)	1924- 1988	Bihar	Socialist leader, politician, 11th Chief Minister of Bihar, (1970 to 1971), (1977 to 1979). Education Minister of Bihar (1967-1968)
50	Lal Krishna Advani	2024	1927-	Delhi	Politician, Co-founders of Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), 7th Deputy Prime Minister of India (2002 to 2004)
51	Chaudhary Charan Singh	2024 (Posthumous)	1902- 1987	Uttar Pradesh	Freedom fighter, Politician, 5th prime minister of India (1979 to 1980).
52	PV Narsimha Rao	2024 (Posthumous)	1921- 2004	Telangana	Lawyer, Politician, Former 9th prime minister of India, (1991 to 1996)
53	MS Swaminathan	2024 (Posthumous)	1925- 2023	Tamil Nadu	Father of the Green Revolution, administrator, agronomist, agricultural, plant geneticist, scientist.